» » Virginia Astley - Promise Nothing
Virginia Astley - Promise Nothing Album
Electronic / Rock
Performer: Virginia Astley
Title: Promise Nothing
Style: Minimal, Ambient, Experimental, Ethereal
Year 1983
Country Canada
Label Why Fi, Sire
Catalog Number WYFI 14
Genre: Electronic / Rock
Rating: 4.6
Votes: 695
MP3 size: 2128 mb
FLAC size: 1906 mb
WMA size: 2370 mb
Record From: Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Virginia Astley - Promise Nothing Album


1Love's A Lonely Place To Be3:27
3It's To Hot To Sleep5:40
5Artic Death3:02
6Angel Crying3:46
8We Will Meet Them Again4:00
9A Summer Long Since Passed4:40


CategoryArtistTitle (Format)LabelCategoryCountryYear
TWI 194Virginia Astley Promise Nothing ‎(LP, Comp)Les Disques Du CrépusculeTWI 194Belgium1983
YX-7326-AXVirginia Astley Promise Nothing ‎(LP, Comp)ColumbiaYX-7326-AXJapan1983
YX-7326Virginia Astley Promise Nothing ‎(LP, Comp, Promo)ColumbiaYX-7326Japan1983
TWI 194Virginia Astley Promise Nothing ‎(LP, Comp, RE)Les Disques Du CrépusculeTWI 194Belgium1985
WYF5-14, WYF5 14Virginia Astley Promise Nothing ‎(Cass, Comp, Dol)Sire, Sire, Why FiWYF5-14, WYF5 14Canada1983


  • BassTony Butler
  • CelloSimon Fryer
  • DrumsMark Brzezicki
  • Guitar, Bass, VocalsRussell Webb
  • HarmonicaPeter Hope-Evans
  • Music ByVirginia Astley (tracks: B3)
  • Photography [Back cover] – Tom Sheehan
  • ProducerDavid Lord (tracks: B3), Jon Astley (tracks: A1 to B3), Phil Chapman (tracks: A1 to B3), Russell Webb (tracks: B4, B5), Virginia Astley (tracks: B4, B5)
  • RemixRussell Webb (tracks: B2, B3)
  • Sleeve, DesignDavid A. Jones, Martyn Atkins
  • Soprano SaxophoneJo Wells
  • VocalsAminta Townshend, Emma Townshend
  • Vocals, GuitarJon Astley
  • Vocals, Piano, Flute, SynthesizerVirginia Astley
  • Written-ByRussell Webb (tracks: B2), Virginia Astley (tracks: A1, A2, A3, A4, B1, B4, B5), Wilfred Owen (tracks: B3)


Manufactured and Distributed by WEA Music of Canada Ltd.

Some copies were issued with sleeves marked as a promo.


  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Why-Fi Records
  • Manufactured By – WEA Music Of Canada, Ltd.
  • Distributed By – WEA Music Of Canada, Ltd.


The album was released in July 1983 and peaked at number 4 in the UK Indie Chart. The album was trailed by a couple of its tracks A Summer Long Since Past and It's Too Hot to Sleep, which were included on the 12 of the earlier single Love's a lonely place to be. Songs in album Virginia Astley - Promise Nothing 1983. Virginia Astley - We Will Meet Them Again. Virginia Astley - Artic Death. Virginia Astley - Angel Crying. Virginia Astley - Sanctus. Virginia Astley - Love's A Lonely Place To Be. Virginia Astley - Soaring. Virginia Astley - Futility. Virginia Astley - A Summer Long Since Passed. Virginia Astley - It's To Hot To Sleep. Listen free to Virginia Astley Promise Nothing We Will Meet Again, Artic Death and more. 9 tracks 32:58. Virginia Astley is an English singer-songwriter active during the 1980s and 1990s. Although more popular in the far east, most notably Japan, she remains a cult artist in her native England. View wiki. Stream Virginia Astley - Promise Nothing, a playlist by TreeTopClub from desktop or your mobile device. Astley recorded a solo album, She Stood Up And Cried for Crépuscule but this was withdrawn, eventually being released three years later as Promise Nothing. Thanks to this blog for these mp3 files. Hope In a Darkened Heart - Virginia Astley. Лента с персональными рекомендациями и музыкальными новинками, радио, подборки на любой вкус, удобное управление своей. You can buy Album Promise Nothing Vinyl 1983 - Virginia Astley. Listen online top songs Virginia Astley. Download the latest song of Promise Nothing Vinyl: Angel Crying. VIRGINIA ASTLEY Promise Nothing 1983 Belgium 9-track compilation LP, a great collection of ambient pop issued for the European market from the former Ravishing Beauties vocalist, includes Love's A Lonely Place To Nothing. Promise Nothing is a rock band from Washington DC and Northern vote. Add album to Cart. From Gardens Where We Feel Secure 1983. Hope In A Darkened Heart 1986. Had I The Heavens 1996. Tender Vinyl 1985. All Shall Be Well 1992